Azta Style Sessions: Discovering Ombre

I have always been a little scared conservative when it comes to changes with hair. So when hair perming became a thing, I never really considered it. Anything that has to do with chemically-treating my hair, I try to stay out of it.

But when Hershey (of http://www.theteenagequeen.com/) invited me for an ombre hair makeover at Azta Urban Salon SM Jazz, I thought, why not? I had my KeraSilk treatment a couple of months ago and I really loved my hair after the treatment. I know I can trust my hair with Azta.

It’s a good thing that the makeover came in at the most perfect time since my hair is starting to grow out and lose its shape. You can also see my natural hair color right at the crown of my head:

I picked balayage hairstyle for myself since I’m still a little too conservative for a full-on ombre look. So first, we had to retouch the roots of my hair to match the color with the rest of the length.

Now the real fun begins. Basically Balayage is a French freehand coloring technique where the color is applied by hand rather than using the traditional foiling or cap highlighting techniques. Essentially, there shouldn’t be any use of foil during the process. But since I just had my hair treated early this year, my stylist decided to give me a more subdued balayage by applying very subtle layer of highlights.

See the subtle highlights peeking through my hair? My amazing stylist used foil but my hair color and highlights still looked just as natural.

I like wearing my hair straight, but since balayage works perfectly for permed hair (so the colors and highlights show through), my stylist curled my hair to give me an idea how to wear my new hair for special occasions.

Here’s how the balayage style should look when the hair is curled–subtle highlights should swirl through your hair:

So here’s my final look!

If you are more daring than me, you can go for the bombre (balayage + ombre) look–which I think is what Hershey got. It looks perfect for long permed hair, I swear. You can check her blog for the deets. 😉

Thank you so much to Hershey for inviting me, to Ms. Meg of Azta Urban Salon, and to my glam team. 🙂 See you guys again soon!

Do you like my new hair? Let me know through comments!

And oh, by the way, I will be having a Twitter raffle today for my followers. I’ll pick 5 lucky followers to get a FREE Haircut at Azta Urban Salon SM Jazz so stay tuned for that!


Let me know what you think through the comment box below. Follow me on Twitter for more day to day updates.

6 thoughts on “Azta Style Sessions: Discovering Ombre

  1. Pau says:

    Love what they did to your hair! I’m also scared of some treatments with my hair. A lot suggests that I should have hair color but I insisted because among with my two sisters, I’m the only one who has naturally black hair! 🙂

Leave a comment