Product Review: Biore Micellar Cleansing Water

When I was still working at Avon, I never understood why the Australian market would prefer to have a non-waterproof mascara in their portfolio over a waterproof one. I would always ask “why wouldn’t you rather have waterproof?” because, for me, I hate the fact that most waterproof mascaras in the Philippines aren’t really waterproof. Somehow, they smudge all around my eyes at the end of the day. That’s, of course, until I discovered this awesome Etude House mascara that I didn’t have to worry of panda eyes anymore.

And so I’d always have my trusty Maybelline makeup remover to do its thing after I’ve enjoyed an entire day of smudge-free eyes. Sadly, I run out of it last week and boy it was such a b*tch to take off this waterproof mascara from my lashes. It stuck there even after washing my face 5x–and yes, that’s 30 splashes of water each! That’s when I fully understood ANZ’s issue with waterproof mascaras. -_-

So, yeah, I was stuck with the mascara for 2 days until I was able to go out and buy myself a new makeup remover. Since I’m out to try a new one, I saw this pretty bottle of Biore Micellar Cleansing Water at Watson’s and thought of giving it a try.

So what do you mean by micellar water?

Micellar water have been widely available in French pharmacies for many years, but has only gained international fame in the last 3 years or so. Micellar water takes its name from micelles, tiny round balls of cleansing molecules that float in the water. These nano-sized, single-layer fatty bubbles absorb other fats such as sebum and oils from your face gently yet effectively.

Made with Natural Mineral Water from the Japanese Alps enhanced with Watery Micellar Technology. This lightweight and refreshinging wipe-off makeup remover lifts off makeup and dirt effectively from pres. Skin feels clean and refreshed with no sticky after feel.

Was it able to remove my stubborn mascara? Yes. But you have to be patient as it won’t go away in one sweep. I put some product on a cotton pad and left it on top of my eyes for 2-3 minutes to “loosen” the mascara from my lashes before washing my face again with facial cleanser. Although micellar water is a no-rinse product, the mascara was too stubborn for it, I guess.

On a lighter note, I was able to remove my other facial makeup in one sweep using Biore Micellar Cleansing Water. However, on the no-rinsing part, I guess that would take me some time for me to get used to. >,<

Biore Micellar Cleansing Water is sold for Php189.00 and is distributed in the Philippines by Vibelle Distribution, Inc. Available in selected Watson’s, Robinson’s Supermarket, Rustan’s Supermarket, Landmark, and PCX. Get to know more about Biore by following their Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.


Let me know what you think through the comment box below. Follow me on Twitter for more day to day updates.

One thought on “Product Review: Biore Micellar Cleansing Water

  1. banananutella says:

    Yey! Thank you for this review because I am looking for a new brand of make up remover that is cheaper from what I am using at present but the quality is good or hust the same. I also have the dilemma of removing my mascara and foundation because some make up remover can’t remove fully the make up that we placed on our face. Thank you for this review and I’ll buy this product as soon as I can. 🙂

Leave a comment