Product Review: Shu Uemura Skin Purifier Whitefficient Clear Brightening Gentle Cleansing Oil

Shu Uemura emerged as one of the top skin care brand when it released its first cleansing oil. It was raved about by almost every girl. Being the first oil-based facial cleanser, I remember how almost everyone would say it’s their holy grail cleanser as it gets rid of the toughest makeup.

For Php 5,295.00 a bottle–that’s 450ml of product, I think it’s a lot to shell out. Especially, when I’m very used to using Tender Care as my facial soap–which costs you a measly Php30.00 tops.

I was lucky to have received a 50ml trial size bottle of Shu Uemura Skin Purifier Whitefficient Clear Brightening Gentle Cleansing Oil last month from Taste Central. For only Php750.00, it was a no-brainer for me to get this and have a chance to try it out, along with other products from its line.

For dull skin complexion, removing melanin-filled dead cells is the first step in brightening care. Fortified with the Ultimate Removal System, our latest development, the lightly textured formula effectively removes accumulated melanin and heavy make-up.

Empowered with our advanced brightening technology this brightening cleansing oil contains an innovative combination of Mito-White Complex and Vitamin C to help prevent the accumulation of melanin deep within. Day-after-day, the skin looks clarified and brightened with an even-toned complexion.

I was all giddy and excited to try out the much-talked about cleansing oil since this was all new to me. I mean, using oil to clean my face? That must be something.

And again, this might be a case of “what works in most might not work for me” kind of product. Maybe it’s because of personal preference, but I never really got the hang of not splashing on water on my face to kick off my facial cleansing routine.

Simply put, Shu Uemura’s Cleansing Oil didn’t work for me.

However, to give credit, it did remove most of my stubborn makeup in the few times I have used it to clean my face. But since I always double clean using Bifesta’s Express Cleansing Lotionwhich I super love by the way, and I always find some makeup left on my cotton pads, I guess Shu Uemura’s Cleansing Oil is not all that.

As to the promised whitening effect, I can hardly notice anything since I haven’t had the patience to use this for at least 2 weeks straight. I find myself gravitating towards using Shiseido’s Ibuki Purifying Cleanser.

I guess this is my two-cents worth about the all-famous cleansing oil.

On the other hand, I’m liking this other Shu Uemura product very much: Shu Uemura UV Underbase Brightening Mousse w/ SPF 30–which is actually from the same line. I’d have to tell you more about that next time.

Anyway, I hope my post didn’t discourage you from trying the product out. If you are very much interested in testing Shu Uemura’s Cleansing Oil, better hop on to Taste Central while they still have stocks left.


Let me know what you think through the comment box below. Follow me on Twitter for more day to day updates.

Leave a Reply

