CW Beauty Talk: Distressed Tresses

CW Beauty Talk

Hi Couchwasabi,

Advanced happy anniversary! I have been a reader of your blog for years now and I’d like to ask you something. My hair is really wavy and tends to frizz when it’s humid. How can I keep it under control? I’d like to blow it out and wear it straight but I’m afraid the second I step outside–esp. during this rainy weather–it’ll explode into an unruly mess. Help!!

– Anja

Hello Anja!

Thank you for sending a note.

I feel you! Honestly, I don’t have the best of hair. Believe it or not, when I was younger, my crowning glory didn’t feel like a “glory” at all! I hated my hair when I was young. I’d feel so embarrassed about it.

You see, I have a naturally wavy hair like you. It feels such a chore to maintain my hair. And yes, it gets more stressful when it’s humid… my hair would poof up like Hagrid’s.

My sister is more patient with her hair–it comes from the genes–that she’d spend 3 hours (or more!) ironing it flat in the morning. She’d use tons of hair products to tame it, too. But I have no time for that. Plus, I have no hair styling skills. Growing up, I’d usually tie my hair in a bun or in a pony tail. Else, I’d have to go to school with a massive hair.

Luckily, as I grew older, I learned to deal with my hair. It’s just a matter of finding which product works for you. Plus, the magic of hair rebond. πŸ˜‰

I’m a fan of wash and wear hair so having my hair rebonded once a year is essential. You don’t even have to hit the most expensive hair treatment salon to have beautiful locks. In fact, I always have my hair rebonded at Cosmopolitan Salon–where the price is only Php1,000, any length–and it works just fine. While you’re at it, throw in some hair treatment after rebonding to ensure that your hair is still healthy.

Anything you put on your hair is important–down to the shampoo and conditioner that you use daily. If you think you have figured out the most basic hair care product already, you can move on in picking your hair nourishing products. πŸ˜‰

For frizzy hair, it is important to use moisture locking products. On bad hair days, I use moisture-locking leave-on hair conditioners to tame my hair. I stay away from heated treatments like blow drying and flat ironing as heat can damage the hair. I have also read somewhere that showering with cold water helps tame frizzy hair.

If you have to blow dry your hair, make sure to use a blow drier with hot/cold air settings. Always use cool air as hot air can add to the frizz.

I also noticed that taking a shower in the morning before going out of the house makes my hair frizzier or harder to manage. I don’t know why, but it does. So, I now take my shower at night so that I can sleep on my newly washed hair and have a better shape the following morning. This technique has worked for me for years now.

It’s my first time to answer a reader’s question so I hope this helps. πŸ™‚

If there’s anything else you’d like to ask, just shoot me an email at couchwasabi[at]ovi[dot]com.

xx, Couchwasabi

Leave a Reply

