My iPhone’s bestfriend: Momax iPower Go 8800mAh

Three days ago came by a wonderful package that carried my very own powerbank (Thanks, Avee!). Yay!!!πŸ™‚πŸ™‚πŸ™‚

You see, my year-and-a-half old iPhone has been throwing tantrums on me lately, survivinig only for 4 hours a day–yeah, considering I really spend a lot of talktimes lately. What I do is, I always have my iPhone cord with me so I can bat my eyes and ask restaurant waiters to charge my phone for me while I’m eating. Although this works most of the time, it’s just so inconvenient. So, I was thinking I really need to get myself one of those powerbanks.

Since receiving my Momax iPower Go, I was able to roadtest it for 3 days. I really love its bright pink color (cute!). It’s shaped like a little sturdy luggage–it’s so quirky and bagay with my equally kikay phone. Since Momax iPower Go is packed with 8800mAh, one of the highest ampere-hours you can find in the market, you can to bring life to more gadgets in one go. In fact, I had 3.5 full charge cycles with my phone using this powerbank–and that is just from the breaking-in/factory charged state.

Another thing that’s good about Momax iPower Go is that it has two usb outputs–meaning, you can charge two gadgets a the same time! How cool is that? It’s also compatible with almost anything–your Samsung phones, tablets, iPhones, iPad, carmeras, and whatnot. With Momax iPower Go, you can never run out of battery without notice. It has 4 indication LED lights, each light is equivalent to 25% power. Once the final LED light is blinking, it means it only has 10% and needs to be recharged. Another smart feature is that you don’t get to waste energy with Momax as it turns off automatically when nothing is plugged or charging in it.

To fully recharge your Momax iPower Go, you have to have >12hours and you are good to go. I was not able to fully charge mine this morning as I had to leave for work, so I took it with me with 12 hours charging time, having the fourth LED light blinking. Ideally, you have to wait until all four LED lights are steady.

UPDATE: I charged my Momax this time with my iPhone charger and it took me 10hours to fully charge the powerbank.πŸ™‚

For girls on the go like me, my mobile phone has been my bestfriend–no, actually, my phone has been an extension of my life. Nowadays, having your phone emptied out with battery in the middle of something important is like suicide. And since most phones nowadays barely last a day, Momax iPower Go might be one of the best things on Earth to carry around with you and keep your phone alive from one meeting to the next to the party afterward.

Momax iPower Go, which carries 8800mAh power, is available in Aqua Blue, Dyke Blue, Magenta and Yellow (SRP is Php2,950.00) while Momax iPower GO+, with 11200mAh, is available in gold and silver (SRP is Php3,750.00).

You can get your own Momax iPower Go at any Banana Telecom, Beyond the Box, Digital Hub, Digital Walker, E-Central, Electro Computer Data System, Globotel, iGig, iStudio, Microstation, Powerhub, Viewers Telecom, 8Telcom outlet.


Let me know what you think through the comment box below. Follow me on Twitter for more day to day updates.

39 thoughts on “My iPhone’s bestfriend: Momax iPower Go 8800mAh

    • CouchWasabi says:

      I’m not sure… I normally charge my iPhone, S3, and Nexus 7 tablet with it… It can take me two days before I have to recharge the battery pack again, even from charging all these 3 gadgets repetitively.

  1. Annaliza (Anna) Santos says:

    Hi! I like your post about your own Momax! I have mine in aqua blue (the bluish-green one) but I do have this problem – I don’t know if it is or it’s normal, though. I noticed a while ago that I only had 2 lights on for my momax so that means I’ve used up 50% already, right? The problem is when I plugged in my iPhone 4s at the 1A slot, the third indicator lit up? So from 2 lights, it became 3. Isn’t that weird? :O

    • CouchWasabi says:

      HI Anna! Hm… Do you make sure to drain the battery pack (Momax) before you fully charge it back? Like all batteries, they need to be ‘reset’ once in a while by fully draining and fully charging it to recalibrate its power.πŸ™‚

  2. Annaliza (Anna) Santos says:

    Oh, actually just once since I bought it a couple of days ago. That’s why I was wondering why the light indicator’s a bit wonky. When I plugged my iPad though, I think it recalibrated itself? The indicator’s back to normal. :O

  3. dens says:

    Hi, just want to ask, i bought the same powerbank yesterday, and i noticed that once my iphone is fully charged, if i dont remove my phone form the cable, the powerbank lights stay on, is it really like this? i asked because in my mipow powerbank, the unit (powerbank) auto shuts off (lights off) when the iPhone is fully charged. Thanks in advanceπŸ™‚

      • dens says:

        Hi, so your unit does that, once your iphone is fully charged the powerbank shuts off even when the phone is still plugged? mine doesnt shut off, i have to remove the phone in order for the powerbank to shut off…

      • CouchWasabi says:

        I make sure to completely shut off all the apps running in the background when charging though. Maybe your phone is still consuming battery since some apps are running in the background? I’m not sure. But if that’s the case, I think your phone will continuously consume power and so your phone will continue to get power from the powerbank.

  4. dens says:

    Hi thanks for your replies, appreciate it a lot. I’ve tried it with several devices and it doesnt shut off unless i unplug the phone or devices. So in your case even if the iphone is plugged in your powerbank, once the phone is fully charged, the powerbank lights go off? (with the device still attached)? If its not too much to ask pa observe sana if your momax powerbank behaves like that, not sure if i have a faulty unit, just bought this two days ago at beyond the box. Thanks very muchπŸ™‚

  5. dens says:

    oh ok, mine must be defective or something, it shuts off when no device is connected but doesnt do that when the iphone is connected… thanks for the heads up, need to return this to the storeπŸ™‚

    • CouchWasabi says:

      It doesn’t shut off automatically when my Samsung S3 is charged in it though, even if it’s full. So I was thinking maybe there’s something to do with the background apps running that affects it.

  6. dens says:

    Oh i see, just read in their manual it says “ipower go supports auto power supply cut in some devices”
    You are right, there must be something still sipping power on my iphone 5s or its the ios7 thing… will try charging with the device off… thanks again for helping me out, appreciate it a lotπŸ™‚

  7. rhaine says:

    Hello good afternoon..i just bought one and used it immediately to drain the battery.. i would like to ask if it is just normal that the adapter/charger i used becomes very hot when i recharged the unit..the adapter i used was the charger of the samsung s4..

  8. Em says:

    Hi good pm are you using your iphone charger when recharging the momax power bank? Or ur just using through usb and plug it on you laptops or computer?

  9. Syd says:

    Hi! I bought the exact same product and i’m wondering how to charge it properly. Whenever I try to charge it, I would see the light lit up and then it would stop. Does that mean it stopped charging as well?

  10. Treb says:

    HI! can you please help me.. i bought a momax ipower tough. i fully charged it before travelling i saw its lights fully charged with all four led lights lit up.. but then when I try to used it because my phone’s battery is drained i was shocked when the led lights only has 2 lights on.i did not even use it after I charged it.i don’t know what happened.do you have any Idea what just happened to my powerbank.thank you for you help in advance

  11. Treb says:

    then I drained the battery…now I’m charging it and for almost 3hours now and it is still blinking with only one led light. sad.. please i need some advice

  12. paul says:

    Hello, I just bought mine yesterday and used its power and fully drained it and recharged my momax using the iphone 5s’s charging unit, problem is it only charges till 50% and it stops. but when I use my laptop to charge it continues. And when i use my iphone 4s’s charger lights behaves differently that i dont know if its charging. Normal charging behaves when each light blinks and stays lit to show that it reached that charge capacity right? Do you experience this? What device do you use to charge your momax? TIA.

    • CouchWasabi says:

      Hi! I normally use my tablet’s charging unit, which is 2A output (iPhone charger is normally 1A output). But using an iPhone charging socket shouldn’t cause a problem, it may only need a longer time to fully charge your Momax. Yes. Normal charging is when the light blinks until it stays fully lit in all 4 LED bulbs to show it’s full. Maybe you can bring it back to the store to have it checked.

  13. Juvy Abalos Dela Rosa says:

    I bought mine last April in Games and Gadgets Megamall. Last week, I noticed that the power bank is not charging. The LED lights aren’t blinking like it was supposed to do. It’s just 5 months old and yet it was already damaged.

    I called Games and Gadgets and they told me to that they only have 7 days replacement. I checked MOMAX’s warranty coverage but according to their site (http://www.momax.net/eng/service3.php), I have to ship the damaged unit to China to have it looked at. Also all of the shipment costs should be covered by me. I guess this unit is good as long as it is not damaged too early like mine. Their warranty coverage sucks.

  14. Mae ann padilla says:

    Hi! What adaptor did u used in your momax powerbank. Im using the adaptor of my ipad. The seller said it should be 10watts adaptor to fully re charge your momax powerbank. Charging time is only 6hours. I bought mine exactly 7days today but i replaced it last monday and will replace it again yoday for the second time. The led lights were blinking, im not charging any devices. So therefore it is considered defective.

  15. Rosie says:

    Hi! I just want to ask, how do you charge your Momax powerbank? Can I use my iPhone 3G’s adapter? And another thing is that, when you charge your device using your powerbank, do you use its own cable or do you use the Go-Link from the powerbank? Thanks!πŸ™‚

      • Rosie says:

        Thank you for your response! Oh by the way, I am currently charging my power bank. After a few minutes the light went off. And now it doesn’t show any light at all. Is that normal? How would I know if it’s done charging? ☺️

  16. Rosie says:

    Thanks for responding! Oh and by the way, when I’m charging my Momax the light suddenly went off. Is that normal? How am I suppose to know if my Momax is done charging?πŸ™‚

  17. Pooh says:

    i charged my phone 3x and the last time I used the Powerbank, it still has 2 lights,on the 4th use,its not working anymore. How come?

Leave a Reply

