Dove Real Beauty Sketches

I have been telling my beau that he should have his own blog. I swear, he’d always find all these interesting videos and articles every day. Yesterday, he shared with me this touching video about how distorted girls see themselves.

I am very much guilty of this. Since hitting my mid-twenties, I guess we can say that my quarter-life crisis has been kicking in. There are a lot of days that I do not feel good about myself. I feel fat. I hate my nose. Sometimes I get so frustrated with my hair… and the whining goes on.

Since the past year, I have noticed that my metabolism has been really going slow and it has been making me fatter than I used to be. Now, I hate my muffin tops.😦 And this has been the source of my constant rant.

My beau has been really emotionally supportive of me. He tells me that what matters is how he sees me. I feel good comforted whenever he assures me of his love. But when I look at myself some times… the sinking feeling comes back. When I look at my old photos and see how skinny I used to be, I feel bad.😦

I guess this is the reason why he showed me this video. To remind me that I should not be feeling this way. Girls make themselves feel bad because of the distorted image they have of themselves. This video is a reminder thatΒ I am not alone in this world, too. That most of the negative things we see about ourselves is just fictional. And I appreciate how Dove perfectly executed this concept.πŸ™‚

So, this morning when I woke up, I told myself that my muffin tops will not go away with my whining. I had to do something about it. As much as I hate exercise, I guess I had to commit to it.

Now, I am checking ab workout videos over Youtube. Then maybe squeeze in a 20-minute cardio three times a week.

Keep your fingers crossed. :p

Leave a Reply

