Showbiz Time: Heart & Chiz vs. Mommy Ongpauco

The Ongpauco parents have now appealed to the public and used the media to ask Chiz to say away from their daughter, Heart Evangelista (real name Love Marie Ongpauco). Read full article here.

The Ongpauco parents never seem to approve anybody for Heart. We all remember how Heart’s parents didn’t like Jericho, which made Heart run away from her family (then eventually they reconciled years after and she went back to her parent’s roof). She then dated Daniel Matsunaga, which I thought would be perfect for her. I’m not sure what happened between the two of them or if Heart’s parents had something to do with the split. But now that she’s with Chiz, here comes Heart’s parents doing a presscon against their daughter’s lovelife.

It seems that this is a classic story of “nobody is good enough for my son/daughter.” Being brought up from a traditional Chinese background, I know how it feels to have a controlling set of parents. And when I say controlling, it can be an understatement.

Yes, it is true that there are still a handful of Chinese families who would not allow their children to marry a Filipino just because they’re Filipino. I am one of them. But being a goody-two-shoes (or so I thought), I have already programmed myself not to like Filipinos more than just a friend. This is what my parents instilled in me. All these years, I thought that falling in love with a Filipino is the only rule not to break… until I fell in love with a non-Chinese (not Filipino, but not a Chinese either) and the wrath of scorned parents came running after me. It was crazy. Reading the article and how Heart’s parents reacted about Chiz brought back memories how my parents would talk about my non-Chinese boyfriend (Honestly, I never knew that I had an exclusivity clause “For Chinese Only” tagged on my forehead).

Though I’m sure that Heart did not have the “For Chinese Only” clause, Heart’s parents did not like Jericho for other reasons and thought that their daughter was just rebelling when Heart ran away with Jericho one day. But being in my mid-twenties, and knowing that I have all the right reasons to fight for love, I knew fighting for my non-Chinese boyfriend is not just a matter of teenage rebellion. It was for a principle that I wanted my parents to understand how serious I am and that I know what I am doing.

Yes, it’s true that our parents would only want the best for us. But sometimes, as parents, maybe they should listen too. Logic to logic, reason to reason. In Heart’s case, I’m sure her parents have reacted in a way that it’s clearly irrational for them to put their claws over on whoever is their daughter’s boyfriend. Nobody seems to be good enough for Heart–not Jericho (yuck), not Daniel (why????), and not Chiz (I wonder why..?).

The fact that they had to call a press conference and tell the media how much they don’t like Chiz is already irrational and quite ungraceful. Moreso, to provide seven reasons about it. Yes, of course, they are “only concerned” and only “looking out for Heart’s future.” But I guess, as parents, they should understand that they can’t run their daughter’s lives. They are supposed to be there just to guide their children. Hold their hand as they walk through life and let them stumble and fall if they have to… because that’s the only time a child can learn how to be strong on their own.

Don’t get me wrong. I’m not encouraging young girls to rebel and raise their infatuation in greater heights. I love my parents and you should, too. I understand where they’re coming from. I understand that they were only being too concerned and are just trying to protect me from hurt and heartbreak. I’m sure Heart’s parents have nothing but good intentions–albeit the over-the-top reaction about Chiz. But I also think that Heart is old enough to decide for herself. She’s entirely liable if she chooses this man and give Chiz the golden ticket to love her or to hurt her. It’s her choice to make. It’s her heartache to nurse. It’s her life to live.

2013 Spring/Summer Makeup Trend

We’re out with the flashy and festive makeup as this year is all about having the barely-there makeup look. Natural/neutral makeup gives an elegant and youthful vibe. This is even wearable during your trip to the beach this summer. Skip heavy foundation and stick with tinted moisturizers to keep abreast with that fresh, no-makeup trend.

Here are some tips when you go for this look:

Smooth and flawless moisturized face

Dry, spotty and flaky skin ages you instantly. Drink plenty of water to hydrate your body. Also, be sure not to skip on your facial sunblock and moisturizers. Start young and this habit will save your skin in the long run.

This time, skip on your trusty old foundation. I suggest using Etude House Sweet Recipe Collection’s Baby Choux. It’s in a light-weight formula that provides a dewy finish for that baby-faced look.

If you have problem areas like acne marks or dark undereyes, make sure to use concealers and correctors to achieve that flawless, porcelain complexion.

Earthy Eye Makeup

Keep your shocking blues and greens. Bring out neutral colored shades like beige, browns, taupe, gold, shimmer white. But always remember to keep your eyes at a minimum.

If you are to line your eyes, make sure to use a brown liner instead of your normal black. Brown eyeliners tend to make you look softer and more youthful. Don’t wing your liner up, always wing it down for that dolly look. You may totally skip doing your underline, but if you have to, just line the outer 1/3 of the lower lash line.

Go easy on the brows. Use a brown or lighter colored eyebrow pen and apply in light feathery strokes. Apply a clear brow gel to keep them in place.

Skip on the falses. Your natural lashes works best with this look. Curl them well and apply a coat of two of your favorite mascara. Make sure your lashes look natural and press the tips of your lashes to remove clumping.

Natural Flush and Kissable Pout

Forget about your contour and highlighter. The lesser cosmetics you put on, the better. Stick with your favorite blush and apply it lightly on the apples of your cheeks with your favorite brush. Again, make sure to apply with a light hand and aim for it to look like a natural flush of color on your cheeks. I’m sure you wouldn’t want to look like Raggedy Ann.

For the lips, always apply your trusted Carmex balm first. It acts as a good base for your lipstick not to cake. Pick lipsticks that has a sheer application like tinted balms or Etude House’s Dear My Jelly Lips-TalkĀ Lipstick. To glam it up, wear a bright colored pink lips or a rich colored red lipstick then top it off with your favorite lip gloss to add sheen and plump to your pout.