10 Things My Mum Has Taught Me

Picture of me and my mom in HongKong some 18 years ago

I didn’t grow up to be super close with my mom (because normally, I would just have my own world), but I love her to bits. All moms are annoying sometimes. They nag about everything and it can get to our nerves but when you think about it, it’s just because they care and they want to instill good morals to their kid.

Here are the top 10 things that I always hear my mom say:

  1. Always wash your face in the morning when you wake up, when you come home from school/work, and before you sleep.
  2. “Wash your face with 30 times water.” Because Maynilad ain’t got nothing on us. Yea.
  3. “I’m very particular with my pillow.” Yes. Nobody can touch her pillow. Hell hath no fury like a woman with violated pillows. LoL.
  4. Drink plenty of water. Water. Water. Water.
  5. “Don’t cross your legs” Bad genes. We’re a family prone to varicose veins… 😦
  6. NEVER POP YOUR ZITS. Unless you want to look like the moon. Think craters.
  7. Do NOT shave.
  8. Keep the bathroom dry!
  9. Finish everything that’s on your plate. Each rice grain you leave will be the pimple mark on your future boyfriend (She tells me this when I was a kid and it scares me to have pimply boyfriend…)
  10. Love one another. Two heads is better than one. Stick together as siblings. ❤

My mom is just like everyone’s. She nags, she gets mad, she gets wild (at times). But at the end of the day, she’s our mother hen and I know it sure ain’t easy to raise 5 kids.

Happy mother’s day!